Interview Dimitar in english

Publié le par Carnicarni Alex

Hi everybody ! This my first interview in english ! Once again thanks a lot to Dimitar to have accepted that ! He is one of the best Cephalotus grower in Europe ! I hope you will like it :)

Hi Dimitar ! Thank you very much for accepting this interview. So let’s begin !

So can you talk about yourself ?When did you start and what do you grow in your collection ?

-Well, my wife is guilty lol Well, all with the CPs started 15 years ago or maybe more. She gave me a Nepenthes plant as a present for my birthday. It was the first time when I saw carnivorous plant and I was so impressed. Unfortunately, there was not much info in the net regarding these plants by this time. I didn't want to loose my plant and I was forced to find proper way how to grow it and I asked and found that in Bulgaria in our Botanical Garden in their greenhouses where they have carnivorous plants. When I visited it I found many other Carnivorous plants like Dionaea, Sundews, Sarracenia etc and I was happy that I had the chance to buy some species, so everything started like that.

-Now I have my own greenhouse where the plants are hundred and different. I enjoy my plants and my first Nepenthes is still there as well :)

I think that I can say that your favorite plant is the famous Cephalotus Follicularis, but why this plant ? How many varieties do you grow ?

-Yep, that's true and it turned to be my beloved plant during the years, perhaps because it has its own character and charm.

- I grow a lot varieties, many of them not available in Europe or USA yet. It may sound quite pompously but this is the truth, I’m afraid.

Would you say that it’s a difficult plant, as many growers say ?

Not at all. I definitely would say that Cephalotus is maybe the easiest plant. Sadly enough, it has bad reputation as "difficult" plant. I have to agree partly with similar statements but with remark - " if u live in the tropics you would have problems growing Cephalotus". On the other hand, many "urban legends "are written in the forums, gathered articles etc. how "difficult " this plant is. However, I respect the other people opinions even if they don't much the truth but sooner or later everyone founds the truth in one or another way.

I have the impression that nowadays there some polemics about the different varieties. For many people differences are not clearly visible. What do you think about that ?

- It is an interesting question indeed and I would say that many peeps don’t see differences in the varieties but this is probably because they don’t grow enough plants. I would encourage the people to start growing Cephalotus from seeds if they want to see significant differences.

I know that you are growing Cephalotus with a precise origin. Can you tell more about that ? Is there real differences with the “type form” ? Don’t you fear to see some people use that to propose false plants ?

- Yes, it is true. I have some with precise origin like Cephalotus ‘Hummer’s Giant ‘ with trace back to the original plant described from John Hummer. This particular plant I got from Charles Brewer, USA who took his plant directly from John Hummer. So this plant is totally different from all plants I have seen in Europe labeled as C. ‘ Hummer’s Giant’. However, sadly enough there are many, many fake plants labeled as C. ‘ Hummer’s Giant’ in circulation in Europe and USA. The situation is not so different with many other plants – named and cultivars.

I have some location plants like Cephalotus Two Peoples Bay, Cephalotus Denbarker, Cephalotus French Mans Bay, Cephalotus Northcliffe (Sand Site), Cephalotus Coal Mine Beach, Cephalotus Gull Rock Road , Cephalotus Denmark etc and most of those aren’t available in Europe or USA at all, so fakes will be hard to make because there will be no chance to trace them to the original source in Australia, but I won’t be surprised if fake attempts appear some day. It is somehow in the human nature to be greedy.

Do you have some advices for all growers that want to progress ?

- Yes, I advice people to have more patience. I think this is the key to success for everything.

A last word for the end ?

- May people smile more J

Thank you very much for your time. I wish you a good culture and the best for the future. Bye

- Thank you, too. It was pleasure for me and I wish good luck and good growing to all growers!


See ya :)

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article